Appellate Practice Vol. 19 - Kentucky Practice Series [Print & Westlaw]
Includes: operation of Kentucky’s appellate courts, appealable decisions, time, initiation of appeal, motions for discretionary review, brief format and requirements, oral argument, appeals from district court, appeals from administrative agencies, criminal appeals, costs and delay damages, and rules.
Baldwin’s Kentucky Lawyer’s Handbook With Forms Thomson-Reuters [Print Only]
Vol. 1 - Civil Practice & Appellate Practice; Vol. 2 - Criminal Practice; and Vol. 3 Miscellaneous
Includes: pleadings and practice in the Kentucky Court of Appeals, prehearing conference procedure, record on appeals, and discretionary jurisdiction. Pleadings and practice in the Kentucky Supreme Court, particular kinds of proceedings before the Kentucky Supreme Court, sample forms, and timetables. Includes: probate practice, juvenile practice, eminent domain, small claims actions, and workers’ compensation.
Basic Appellate Practice Handbook and Checklist of Briefs
Kentucky Court of Appeals Website
Document is linked to from the Kentucky Court of Appeals website http://courts.ky.gov/courts/coa/Pages/coa.aspx. Explains the basic procedures and describes the numerous rules governing appellate practice for attorneys.
Elements of an Action Vol. 21 - Kentucky Practice Series [Print & Westlaw]
Includes: defenses, checklist, sample pleadings, jury instructions, and jury verdicts for the following actions: dog bites, business torts, breach of contract, dram shop, wrongful discharge, false imprisonment, fraud, government tort liability, insurance bad faith, libel and slander, malicious prosecution, nuisance, negligence, premises liability, privacy, products liability, and wrongful death.
Methods of Practice Vols. 4, 4A & 5 - Kentucky Practice Series [Print & Westlaw]
Includes: commercial transactions, uniform commercial code, contracts, creditors, breach of contract, remedies, bankruptcy, business organizations, workers’ compensation, employment relationships, wills and probate, trial practice and procedure, pleadings, motions, depositions, jury trials, evidence law, jury instructions, appellate practice, specific proceedings, injunctions, settlements, domestic relations, guardianships, and forms.
Trial Handbook for Kentucky Lawyers
Kentucky Handbook Series, Thomson-Reuters [Print & Westlaw]
Includes: conduct of trial, trial preparation, trial preparation checklists, trial notebook, defenses, prosecution, double jeopardy, continuances, contempt, jury or nonjury trial, settlements, search & seizure, jury panel, voir dire, open statements, burden of proof, witnesses, direct examinations, cross-examinations, evidence rules, impeachment, privileges, hearsay, documentary evidence, negligence, prior crimes, confessions, directed verdict, jury instructions, verdict, and final judgment.
Trial Practice Vol. 14 - Kentucky Practice Series [Print & Westlaw]
Includes: building a personal injury practice, causes of action -mental and emotional injuries, pre-litigation civil lawsuits, expert witnesses, complaints and answers, discovery, the trial, medical malpractice, legal malpractice, product liability, no-fault insurance, settlements, and alternative dispute resolutions. Be careful as the source has not been updated since 1999.
ONLINE ACCESS:
Lexis Law School Access
https://plus.lexis.com
Westlaw Law School Access
https://lawschool.westlaw.com/
LOCATING A PRINT COPY:
Use the library online catalog.
If you are having trouble finding what you need, contact the Chase Law Library - Circulation Desk: 859.572.6030
PURCHASING A COPY:
Lexis - Matthew Bender
800.833.9844 - Customer Service
West - Thomson Reuters
888.728.7677 - Customer Service
Kentucky Chamber of Commerce
502.695.4700 - Contact
University of Kentucky, Office of Continuing Legal Education
859.257.2921 - Purchasing