Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Ohio Legal Research

ohio legal research ohio case law ohio statutes ohio legislative history

Ohio Bills & Bill Tracking

Recent Ohio Senate and House bills are posted for free on the General Assembly Web site.
Search by bill number or bill sponsor. (2015 - present)
 
Choose Browse Sources > Jurisdiction > Ohio 
Select Category > Statutes & Legislation
OH Bill Tracking Reports - for tracking current bills
OH Full Text Bills - for bills pending in the current legislature.
 
Choose State Materials > Ohio > Ohio Statutes & Court Rules
Select Ohio Proposed Legislation or Ohio Bill Tracking 
 
Hannah (Ohio) Capitol Connection
Public Library of Cincinnati & Hamilton County - Database

To locate the full text of all House and Senate bills introduced or passed in the Ohio General Assembly from 1987 to the present.
You need an Ohio public library card to access this resource OR visit the library.
  • Status of bills - updated daily throughout the day
  • Text of amendments, analyses, and fiscal impact statements
  • Text of opinions
  • Full text search of all databases

Ohio Session Laws

Session laws are a compilation of the new laws passed in each legislative session.  They may enact new provisions of the Ohio Revised Code, or repeal or amend existing sections.  The session laws are the official statutes of the State of Ohio.  The Ohio Secretary of State certifies the language of commercially produced codes, such as Page's and Baldwin's.  

Laws of Ohio
Call Number: KFO 25.2 .05
The official session laws for Ohio published by the Ohio Secretary of State dating back to 1801.  The print set ceased publication in 2006.

HeinOnline - Session Laws
Database: Session Law Library
Ohio coverage is from 1788-2020 and includes the Territory of Ohio (1788-1803).

Ohio Revised Code - Print

Ohio does not publish an official version of the Ohio Revised Code, instead unofficial versions of the code are published in Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated and Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated. 

Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated - West (stack 204)
Call Number: KFO 30 1994.A2

Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated - Lexis (stack 204)
Call Number: KFO 30 1953.P3

Ohio Revised Code - Online

Ohio Revised Code via Lexis, Westlaw + Casemaker
 
OH - Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated
Browse the Table of Contents or search the database.
 
Choose the jurisdiction Ohio and select Ohio Statutes & Court Rules.
Browse the Table of Contents or search the database.
The right screen includes search tools:
Ohio Statutes Unannotated, Ohio Popular Name Table, Ohio Statutes Index
 
CasemakerX - Law Students - Free Access
Casemaker - Attorneys - State Bar Association Membership 
 

Web Sites