LibGuides: A-Z Databases: Databases A-Z

Finding Databases

The Chase Law Library subscribes to a number of databases in the fields of business, government, law, and general research. You can view the alphabetical list of the databases below or browse by topic. You will find additional databases on the Steely Library Databases page and the Kentucky Virtual Library website.

ACCESS OPTIONS
The databases can be accessed in a variety of ways and the access method is dependent on the vendor contract:
Chase Access Only - available only to Chase law students, faculty and staff. Registration required.
Remote Access Permitted - remote access allows authorized users to access these databases from off campus. Remote access requires the entry of a valid NKU username and password prior to linking to the resource.
Campus Access Only - resource available only while on the NKU campus.

Major Databases

Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCOHost
Provides full-text scholarly articles in many fields.
Bloomberg Law
Chase Access Only
Click on Academic user to register for a Bloomberg Law password and use your NKU email address when completing the form.
Registration page - https://profile.bna.com/bloomberglaw-activate/
This service provides access to cases, court documents, legislative documents, news, and company specific information. Bloomberg has a strong focus on the business and transactional side of the legal profession. Some of the information on Bloomberg is proprietary and cannot be found on the other services.
CALI - The Center for Computer Assisted Legal Instruction
Chase Access Only
The law school is a member of the CALI Consortium, which is a group that promotes computer assisted legal instruction. CALI offers more than 600 interactive, computer-based lessons covering 33 areas of law. INSTRUCTIONS: You can register to access the web based CALI lessons and the web address is http://www.cali.org. You will need a student access code to begin your registration process. The student access code can be obtained from from the Reference Librarian 859-572-6484 or email furnish@nku.edu.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The leading source for current news and commentary about issues in U.S. higher education.
CQ Researcher - Congressional Quarterly
Offers an in-depth analysis of political and social issues. Reports are published weekly and the coverage is 1990s forward.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Includes abstracting, indexing, and some full text. Includes topics such as criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Hein Online
Remote Access Permitted
Contains a very large selection of U.S. primary law, government documents, law journal articles, etc. in pdf format.
Provides access to full-text law journals ,the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Register, U.S. Code, U.S. Treaties and Agreements, U.S. Presidential Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, selected federal legislative histories, state session laws, a Legal Classics collection, and international law resources. The online documents are image based or high resolution reproductions of the original hardcopy. The resource covers both historic and current information. You can access several user guides via Hein Online Wiki.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly articles covering a wide range of academic fields.
Newsbank
Covers local & regional news. Covered publications include the Lexington Herald-Leader and the Cincinnati Post.
New York Times - Historical
Coverage: 1851 -2007
Nexis Uni
Full-text access to caselaw, statutes, regulations and secondary sources of law. Also has good coverage of company & financial information.
ProQuest Congressional
Remote Access Permitted
Provides both historic and current legislative information. The Congressional database offers bill information, house and senate reports, hearings, committee prints, the Congressional Record, and legislative histories. The historic coverage commonly referred to as "The Serial Set" contains many U.S. Senate and House of Representatives Reports, and documents and journals from 1789 to 1969. The older files may include treaty documents, miscellaneous publications from the executive branch, and maps.
Steely Library - Databases
Remote Access Permitted.
The main campus library provides access to databases and indexes in a variety of fields. Click on the Databases link and you can access a database by name or choose "find a database by topic".
United States Supreme Court Records and Briefs
Chase Access Only
The Making of Modern Law: Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 is a nearly comprehensive, full-text archive of legal documents from the Court. The database includes various types of briefs, motions, memoranda, petitions, as well as oral argument transcripts.
Wall Street Journal
Steely Library Access - Wall Street Journal, Eastern edition.